Hypnerdic

You are getting nerdy…

A Month of Creative Madness -and- A Publisher Deserving of Attention

It is November, and that means I can say goodbye to luxuries like friends, sanity and a consistent sleep schedule.  Yes, children, it is National Novel Writing Month.  For the next thirty days, I will regurgitate fifty thousand words of the roughest, most unpublishable writing possible, in the hope that I can someday turn it into a shiny finished product.  Or just to prove I can.  Or any of the myriad reasons people do this.

For my own part, I do it because it’s the only way I can kick myself in the ass to sit down and write for more than a day or so.  Throughout the majority of the year, I have tended not to get any writing done at all.  This has only recently been changed since I put the 10k Club together in August, but it’s a long road to consistency.

Of course, having to focus most of my free time on writing terrible cliched fiction means I won’t have much time to post in the next month, so this page may be a little quiet for the next few weeks.

****

Just a couple of posts ago, while deriding Darryl K. Sweet, I plugged a book called “Objects of Worship”.  I still haven’t read it, because my reading list is long and I am easily distracted by shiny objects and the internet, but I think it’s important to take a moment and focus on the book’s publisher, ChiZine Publications.

Canadian fans of genre fiction may already be familiar with the name ChiZine.  The magazine that has borne that title for years is well known for its focus on dark speculative fiction, with a preference for stories that bend the lines of genre.  In short, this magazine is fucking weird.  The stories I have read on their site have all been profoundly bizarre, and tend to leave me with a simultaneous desire to sit down and write, and to curl up in a corner and wait for the bad things in my brain to go away.

Not terribly long ago, in the grand scheme of things, the publishers of ChiZine decided to start focusing on the publication of novels and anthologies.  Their pledge is to publish one title a month, twelve per year.  For the moment, they’re being picky, inviting authors to publish with them rather than accepting submissions.  Based on their list of recent and upcoming titles, they were clearly thinking of quality when they made that decision.  their current catalogue seems filled with books that are innovative, original and, not surprisingly, really weird.

Just like their well-established magazine, ChiZine Publications wants to publish books that take established genres and give them a rough twist, leaving something that is one part imagination and one part heebie jeebies.  For my own part, I’m looking forward to getting my hands on “A Book of Tongues”.  I’ve been itching for a good weird west story, and if “A Book of Tongues” delivers like I think it will, then it will cement me as a firm follower of ChiZine’s releases.

I can’t conclude this post without talking about the covers.  A colleague of mine is quoted on ChiZine’s site praising their covers, and it is praise well deserved.  It was the cover that put “Objects of Worship” in the post that focused on “The Gathering Storm”, and in that post I sang Erik Mohr’s praises.  You can see from their catalogue that this is not an isolated case.  In a field saturated by terrible cover design, Mohr is turning out some of the most beautiful art that ever graced a book jacket.  In all areas, it seems that Brett Savory and his crew are focused on bringing quality to the surface.  I look forward to seeing where they take the field of genre fiction in the next few years.

Titles currently available from ChiZine Publications include:

The World More Full of Weeping

The Choir Boats

Objects of Worship

The Tel Aviv Dossier

Monstrous Affections

Horror Story and Other Horror Stories

Filaria

A Book of Tongues and Chimerascope are currently available in limited edition hardcover from Horror Mall.

November 1, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Books, Fiction, Ramble | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the coverage. We appreciate it.

    You want to talk about genre-bending, Objects of Worship will bend the hell out of your genre.

    And thanks also for praising Erik. We are lucky as hell to have him.

    Comment by CZP | November 3, 2009 | Reply

    • No doubt. I would kill for one of his covers.

      Comment by Zenbomb | November 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

